Tower of Power

Stackable Tower from Ikea

Relay games are a lot of fun. Especially, when your students need to use up some energy. I call this game, “Tower of Power” Two teams have a stack of flashcards face down. At the opposite end of the classroom is a matching set face up. For example, An “Apple” card and an “A” card. Each team has a stackable tower or a set of blocks. The teams have to turn over a face down card and say the word. Then race to the other side of the classroom and bring back the matching card. Having done so, they can build one level of the tower. Game continues untill one team has built their tower. Play the game a couple of times.

2 Responses

  1. Love the idea, and I’m going to try it! I’ll have to find a substitute for that nifty-looking IKEA tower you’ve got pictured there: I worry about how much else I’ll haul home if I go to IKEA.

  2. I wish I lived closer to Ikea. Lots of goodies there. Thanks for checking the post out.

Leave a Reply

